The $100 Startup by Chris Guillebeau

I initially bought this book mainly because of the author. Guillebeau has become my flavor of the month idol, so I picked this up along with his other book, The Art of Non Conformity. I also bought an actual copy of the book, which is something I rarely do since my Kindle purchase, but I thought it might be good to have a hard copy I could mark and tab.

I was right. This book was full of useful information and is now covered in notes and tabs. Chris has been self employed most of his life, and uses this book to pass on his knowledge. He also interviews several other microbusiness owners. To be able to make the cut, the business owners had to make over $50,000 a year from their business and have had a low start up cost (usually less than $1,000). The businesses ranged from creative to technical, but they were all owned by only one or two people. They all made at least enough money to support themselves, but most importantly, they had used their business to break free from the 9-5 grind.

Besides just being inspiring, the book is also full of practical tips on advertising, pricing, customer service, and other aspects of your future business. It also contains worksheets such as the 1 page business plan and 7 steps to market testing, all of which can be found on the book’s website, $100 Startup.

This book mainly caters to people who are looking to break free from the grind and do something they love, not how to get filthy rich. So if you’re like me and dream of starting a small, location independent business that offers more freedom than money, I highly recommend it.

(image from Amazon)

Leave a Reply

